Desperately seeking SOMETHING

Image

OK, maybe I’m not really desperate.  But that sounds so much more dramatic and compelling than “Dilettante Will Dabble”, doesn’t it?  

Part of my ever-so-courageous new endeavor is that I’m actually telling other people about it.  That’s for accountability.  Now I actually have to DO something or I will look like a complete jerk, which is different from simply making a fool of myself.  That doesn’t seem to scare me.

Of course, I still want to become good, nay, excellent at something creative.  Remember, excellence is the standard!  I just read Matt Walsh’s hilariously scathing review of the movie “Les Miserables”. 

Les Miserables Taught Me How to Hate Again.

Holy cow, holy mackerel, holy moly – by all that’s holy, I would give anything to write like that!  Well, no; I would have to draw the line at injuring small animals or selling my soul to the devil.  Still.  A level of entertainment worthy of my aspirations – making people clutch their sides in laughter while reading my blog out loud to others in the room.

I’ve promised myself multiple adventures as I try different media of creative and artistic expression!  My boss has offered to make that a Lucy-and-Ethel experience if I want to try pottery-making (Yes! I do!), because she wants a big new serving bowl.  Something tells me it won’t be that easy to produce beautiful, table-ready crockery, but I’m ready to get up close and personal with potter’s wheel and clay!

It’s sure to stimulate that dormant creative place in my brain.  Gonna shock myself awake!

 

 

 

About anniebee616

Gingerly sticking my big toe into the waters of a wider world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Desperately seeking SOMETHING

  1. Mendy Kelley says:

    Woo hoo….Annie’s got a blog…so very excited for you and about following you. Congrats and HAPPY NEW YEAR.

  2. You Go Girl! We’re watching and smilin already!

  3. CAROL says:

    I ALWAYS FELT THAT YOU R EXCELLENT COOKING REACHED THE LEVEL OF FINE ART. I THINK IT (MY COOKING) HAS SERVED ME WELL AS A CREATIVE OUTLET. (“DO NOT LET THE EXCELLENT BECOME THE ENEMY OF THE GOOD”) I ALWAYS SAY~ YUP!
    XOXOXO
    C

    • anniebee616 says:

      Sadly, it’s been too many years since we tasted one another’s cooking, sweet friend. Your gorgeous watercolor painting is an example of what I mean about a creative outlet that is artsy and cultured! Your advice about “not allowing the excellent to become the enemy of the good” is appropriate, I think. Remember that JC syndrome (named after the savior with the same initials), where one is loath to refer candidates unless they are perfect and possessed of cork shoes? Rhetorical question. Of course you do!

  4. Sue says:

    Explore and find your passion. It’s amazing what the joy of creativity can do. Just do!
    xo

Leave a comment